So, it’s been so very long since I’ve blogged last.

I am so very much more a talker than a blogger. If you’ve spent five minutes with me, you’d know this. But there is something sincerely beautiful and permanent about writing something down, making a mark. In the book of Joshua in the Bible, there’s this great moment, where the Israelites are crossing the river Jordan. They had completed the great Exodus from Egypt, scurried across the parted Red Sea, and were in the very presence of the Lord God Almighty in the middle of the desert! Now they waited as the Ark of the Covenant made its way across the Jordan, which had miraculously parted to make a clear path for the priests carrying the Ark. The Israelites no doubt had reason to praise God and remember what He had done for them. But God, in His infinite wisdom, knew they (read: we) are a forgetful people…

Then Joshua called the twelve men whom he had appointed from the children of Israel, one man from every tribe; and Joshua said to them: “Cross over before the ark of the LORD your God into the midst of the Jordan, and each one of you take up a stone on his shoulder, according to the number of the tribes of the children of Israel, that this may be a sign among you when your children ask in time to come, saying, ‘What do these stones mean to you?’ Then you shall answer them that the waters of the Jordan were cut off before the ark of the covenant of the LORD; when it crossed over the Jordan, the waters of the Jordan were cut off. And these stones shall be for a memorial to the children of Israel forever.”

This blog is one of many sets of my “remembrance stones.” After many months of no blogging, it was beautiful to come back and be reminded of God’s provision, grace, and power that He so clearly displayed this summer in Milwaukee. I will never tire of the story He’s telling in, through, and to me.

And now, I’m at a new chapter. While I’m not graduating in a few weeks, or getting married, or jetsetting off to some foreign locale like many of my friends, I am about to embark on another adventure with Jesus…

Summer 2011.

If you haven’t heard already, I am going to be spending my summer working for YouthWorks, a mission organization dedicated to facilitating exciting mission trip experiences for high school and middle school groups from across the nation.

I have officially been placed at the Blackfeet Native American reservation, in Heart Butte, Montana. I will host 7 weeks of high school groups, setting them up in the beautiful community to do work projects and Kids’ Club–a high-energy vacation Bible school. I have the distinct privilege of serving as a Site Director. I’m in charge of everything financial and administrative. I get to be the one who makes the decisions (Oh, Lord, help me.) This is likely more nerve-wracking than doing my own laundry and cooking for myself ever was. 😉

My excitement for this summer continues to build, which is making school look proportionately less and less appealing. I may not be graduating but I have developed a severe case of senioritis.

Bring me that Montana horizon!!